C. Kelvin Adams is Board Certified in both Personal Injury Trial Law and Civil Trial Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization (“TBLS”). As of August 2018, there were over 100,000 attorneys licensed to practice law in Texas, but only 320 had earned a TBLS Certification in both Personal Injury Trial Law and Civil Trial Law.

Why Hire Board Certified Attorney?

Kelvin’s initial TBLS Certifications were obtained in 1995 and he obtained re-certification in 2000, 2005, 2010 and 2015. TBLS describes the specialty areas of Personal Injury Trial Law and Civil Trial Law as follows:

  • Personal Injury Trial Law is litigation based on an individual’s personal injury from automobile accidents, professional malpractice, defective products or negligence by another.
  • Civil Trial Law is litigation involving contracts, businesses and business owners, negligence, creditors and debtors, fair debt collection, landlord and tenant, and deceptive trade practices act.

TBLS is the nation’s largest legal board certification program and the only organization allowed to provide this service to Texas citizens.

TBLS Certification is a mark of excellence and a distinguishing accomplishment. TBLS Board Certification sets an attorney apart as being an attorney with the highest, public commitment to excellence in his or her specialty area.

Within the Texas legal community, TBLS Certification means an attorney has substantial, relevant experience in a select field of law as well as demonstrated, and tested, special competence in that area of law.

TBLS Certified lawyers earn the right to publicly represent themselves as a specialist in a select area of the law. In fact, they are the only attorneys allowed by the State Bar of Texas to do so. This designation sets them apart as being an attorney with the highest, public commitment to excellence in their area of law.

Board Certification Requirements

Initial Board Certification is valid for 5 years. To remain certified, an attorney must apply for recertification every 5 years and meet substantial involvement, peer review and continuing legal education requirements for the specialty area.

To become Board Certified in a specialty area, an attorney must have:

  • Been licensed to practice law for at least 5 years;
  • Devoted a required percentage of practice to a specialty area for at least three years;
  • Handled a wide variety of matters in the area to demonstrate experience and involvement;
  • Attended continuing education seminars regularly to keep legal training up to date;
  • Been evaluated by fellow lawyers and judges; and
  • Passed a 6-hour written examination.

You can find out more about Board Certified attorneys at the TBLS site or call TBLS at 1-855-277-TBLS (8257) or 512-453-7266, or e-mail TBLS.

Contact our Board Certified Personal Injury and Civil Trial Law Specialist today at (713) 936-2555 or kadams@adams-lawfirm.com for a free consultation, or use our online contact form to reach us.